Happy Birthday, Little Guy

He is asleep now, but when he wakes up, he will be 5.  Happy Birthday, my sweet, sweet boy.

I know it is cliché to say that we love them all equally, but like any parent, pet owner, or lover of any creature in groups more than one, it’s really true.  When I met him, I had been a mom to his brother for two years and I think I believed that they would be the same- that their personalities would be alike.  Looking at it now, I realize that was a naive but give me a break, I had just spent the last 9 months growing a person, raising/loving/chasing/being defeated by a toddler, all while working a full time job.  The kid was honestly lucky he didn’t end up with his brother’s name followed by a #2.  But from the start, this fella showed up and let us know how uniquely himself he was planned to be.  In honor of his 5th birthday, I want to share 5 things I love about him and only him:

1.  His scratchy little Muppet voice.
2.  He sings in the car, in his room, in the bath, everywhere.
3.  He loves animals and insists that they tell him things.
4.  He says his brother is his best friend and means it.
5.  He looks at me like I invented sunshine.

There are about a million more things I want to tell you, but instead, when he wakes up in the morning, I will tell him this:

“Little Boy, my special bug, I am so blessed to be your mom, to get to love you and to help show you the way as you grow.   Happy, happy birthday.”

10 Comments

Filed under Motherhood, NaBloPoMo

10 responses to “Happy Birthday, Little Guy

  1. Hilary - Dangled Carat

    what a cutie pie… they grow so fast – I love “his scratchy muppet voice”

  2. Auntie Joyce

    Mr. is adorable!! Give him a BIG kiss from Auntie Joyce

  3. Happy birthday special guy!

  4. He looks really young for five!
    (kidding!)

  5. Turia

    Happy birthday, little man!

  6. What a sweetie! Happy birthday!
    From ICLW…

  7. Happy Birthday to such a cutie!

    I love your no. 5, I never would’ve thought of putting it that way, but I love it! 🙂

  8. Hoping to be hope's mama

    Beautiful boy! May he celebrate more years!

Leave a Reply

